John M. Mazzaro, Attorney at Law
Long Island Personal Injury Attorney

Blog

News, Notes, & Developments

New York is a "No Fault" State. What Does That Mean?

What is “No Fault” and what exactly does it cover?
”No fault” is coverage under your vehicle’s insurance policy and is part of the premium that you pay every month. You may also be eligible for this coverage if you are a pedestrian hit by a vehicle. It is called “no fault” because it is available to you regardless of who caused the accident. This coverage is designed to pay for your medical bills, lost wages, and other medically-necessary expenses related to an accident.

Deadline Information Regarding “No Fault”
The “no fault” insurance carrier must be notified of a particular accident within 30 days. This means that you must submitted the “no fault” application within 30 days of the accident in order to make a claim for lost wages, medical bills, and other medically-necessary expenses. In some instances, your deadline may be extended. Please contact us to discuss if you qualify for any deadline extension.

Amount of Coverage
Each insured vehicle in New York state carries a minimum of $50,000.00 in “no fault” coverage for each person in the vehicle at the time of the accident. Monthly wage losses are paid at 80% of your gross wages, up to a maximum of $2,000.00 per month, from all employers. Medical supplies such as a wheelchair rental, braces, crutches, mileage to and from your doctors, as well as payment for any household chores your doctor writes that you cannot perform, may be reimbursed as well. The $50,000.00 includes payments from all sources, including New York State Disability.

The intricacies of “no fault” insurance can be confusing, and you must act quickly to ensure you are entitled to its benefits. Please contact our office if you are involved in a car accident so we can quickly, and efficiently, counsel you on these matters.